Phew, a much welcome soft landing!

Blog banner

With the Cabinet reshuffle, this will be my last blog post on “Housing Matters” 😦

I started this blog more than 4 years ago, with a post: “Trepidation and Expectation”. Housing was hot and I came to MND with great trepidation. But I also came with some expectation to be able to do some good.

pics

Four years passed very quickly. Launched 100,000 new flats, built 120 km of park connectors, planted many trees, handed over many keys to new home owners! It had been a great journey. There were tense moments when I had to seek peace and wisdom at Sembawang Park!

But overall, I think I did not waste my 4 years at MND. Made many friends, got to know many dedicated staff and experts in URA, HDB, BCA, AVA, NParks, CEA, and learnt so much from them. Had healthy debates with developers, contractors, industry analysts, property agents. Hosted many Our Singapore Conversation on Housing and tested out many ideas on them. I thank them for their advice, suggestions and generous sharing of expertise.

pics2

I thank Singaporeans in particular for their patience and understanding: you know that policy changes and cooling measures need time to produce results. Particularly happy to be able to help many newlyweds get their home and start their family early. Very pleased to have helped many extended families live close together. Broke new ground with singles being able to buy new HDB flats. Shortened the queue waiting for HDB rental flat. The hot housing market is soft-landing nicely.

But there remains much to do. 2R Flexi is just starting. Fresh Start Housing Grant is a great idea which needs to be fleshed out. There are still a few thousand singles waiting for their new flats. I am sorry that I will not be able to finish up this business. But I am reassured that MND will be in good hands.

Goodbye, my friends for reading the posts on “housing matters”. Where I am going next will be another adventure for me, with even greater trepidation and expectation. I hope I do not have to camp overnight at Sembawang Park 🙂 I certainly hope to continue to have Singaporeans’ patience and understanding.

Please visit MND Facebook to leave a comment! 

Comments are closed.

